History Prize Competitions

We like to reward excellence.

Every two years we run a competition for the best 2000-word profile of an interesting Western Australian, past or present.

Generous gifts from two past members allow us to run a Western Australian History Prize competition every two years.

The AE Williams Prize is offered by the RWAHS with funds donated by the late Mr AE Williams, augmented by his wife Ellen and son Mr Alby Williams to promote interest in the history of Western Australia. A former headmaster in the Education Department Mr AE (Bert) Williams was a respected teacher and historian, and a former President of this Society.

The Lee-Steere prize was established by the RWAHS with funds donated by Sir Ernest Lee-Steere to promote interest in WA History. Ernest Lee-Steere was from a well known pioneering family and was a prominent pastoralist and businessman. His son Ernest became the Lord Mayor of Perth.

The Competition

To write, with illustrations, a 2000 word profile of an interesting Western Australian: Historical or Contemporary.


Members and Affiliated members and their immediate family.


The Prize


Entry procedure

If you wish to enter the competition please read the Conditions and complete the Entry form which is the cover sheet for your paper.


A E Williams Western Australian History Prize 2018 Prize Winner

Congratulations to the winner, Gillian Lilleyman, awarded for her book Pioneer Daughter the Diary of Frances Louisa (Fanny) Brockman (nee Bussell).
Congratulations also to John Norman for his highly commended entry — Broome 1910: companion publication to 'A Pearling Master's Journey' in the wake of the schooner 'Mist'. 

Image below - Dr Steve Errington presenting Gillian Lilleyman with her prize 2018.

Both books are splendid additions to Western Australian historical writings.

Feature image
Gillian Lilleyman