History Prize Competitions


History Prize Competition


The Lee Steere and Williams essay prizes were combined in 2019 to form an annual publication prize for the best new book on WA history. The Lee Steere Prize was inaugurated in 1948 by a grant from pastoralist and philanthropist Sir Ernest Lee Steere’ later supplemented by his son, also Sir Ernest. The Williams Prize honours the memory of historian A.W. (Bert) Williams, chairman of the Society 1963-67 and president 1976-78, and funded by Bert and his family.

The $1,000 Prize is for a publication on Western Australian History published in the preceding twelve months, i.e. from June the previous year to June in the current year.


  • Entries must be publications over 20,000 words in length.
  • Topics could be biography of a Western Australian, a family history, a local or community history or on any aspect of WA History the author chooses.
  • Self-published entries are welcome.
  • Entries incorporating historical fiction and those written for children are not eligible.
  • Two copies of each entry must be submitted.
  • E-book entries are also encouraged and while no print out is required for these, a USB carrying the book must be provided.
  •  An entry form must accompany each submission.
  • All publications entered to be retained by the Society.
  • Entries must be lodged with the Community Liaison Officer, RWAHS, Stirling House, 49 Broadway, Nedlands 6009 by 4pm on the last Friday in June.
  • The judges’ decision is final. They reserve the right to make no award.   
  • The results will be announced at the Society’s Annual General Meeting on the evening of the third Wednesday in September.

Click here for the entry form.


Feature image
Winning Book