Management and funding


The Society is managed by an elected Council whose Chairman is elected annually. The President is elected annually for a maximum of three terms.


Community Officer
Mrs Lesley Burnett    phone (08) 9386 3841   email


Annual Report 2018-2019

Council Nomination Form 2020

Council (2020-2021)

President and Chair of Council
Dr Steve Errington PhD MRSC FRACIJP

Immediate Past President
Hon. Robert Nicholson AO KCSJ FAAL BA LLB MA LLM HonLLD

Mrs Sally Anne Hasluck OAM


Vice-Chairperson of Council and Treasurer
Mrs Lorraine Clarke

Assistant Treasurer
Mr Nick Drew

Dr Pamela Statham Drew PhD, FRWAHS


Dr Fiona Bush MBEnv, PhD, AICOMOS, OAM
Mr Nick Drew
Ms Klara Haselhurst (Observer)
Dr Helen Henderson AM, FRWAHS
Dr Lenore Layman PhD, FRWAHS
Mrs Wendy Lugg (Honorary Artist in Resident)
Mrs Jan McCahon Marshall (Minute Secretary)
Mr Michael Nind
Mrs Rachel Roe, President of the RWAHS Auxiliary


Honorary Office Bearers

Hon. Architect
Maria Gillman
BOS Architects

Hon. Auditor

Hon. Solicitor
Mr Denis McLeod BA LLB

Officers of RWAHS

Community Officer
Mrs Lesley Burnett

Accounts Officer
Glenis Giblett 

Bookshop Officer

Editor  - History West
Dr Lenore Layman

Editors - Early Days
Dr Pamela Statham Drew
Mrs Jennie Carter

Mr Patrick Cornish

Recent Past Presidents 

  • Hon. Robert Nicholson AO KCSJ FAAL BA LLB MA LLM HonLLD
  • Ms Sally Anne Hasluck OAM
  • Dr Lenore Layman PhD
  • Hon. Robert Nicholson AO KCSJ FAAL BA LLB MA LLM HonLLD
  • Emeritus Professor Reginald Appleyard AM, MA, PhD, FASSA.
  • Rt. Hon. Reg Withers LL.B
  • Rt Hon. Sir William Heseltine GCB, GCVO, AC, QSO
  • Dr Geoffrey D R Lilburne MB, BS, FRACOG, FRCOG
  • Mr Clement Mulcahy MPhil, BA Hons, DipEd
  • Miss Margaret Medcalf OAM, BA, DipEd, FLAA, FFAHS, FRWAHS
  • Mr Ronald Bodycoat AM, LFRAIA
  • Professor Geoffrey C Bolton AO, MA, DPhil., PhD, FRHS, FASSA, FAHA, FRWAHS
  • The Hon. Sir Francis Burt AC, KCMG, QC


The work of the Society is funded from membership subscriptions, general fundraising, donations, bequests, sponsorship and special purpose grants. 

Donations to the Royal Western Australian Historical Society Inc. Library and Museum Fund are tax-deductible.

An individual, company or organisation may also become a major sponsor or establish an endowment/trust/bequest fund to recognise family links to Western Australian history.


Fundraising second hand book sale in the grounds of the RWAHS headquarters
RWAHS fundraising secondhand book sale, 2014
Photo Wendy Lugg, 2014, Copyright RWAHS